I’m Not Scared Anymore!!!

Working as a tutor was originally a way to get an extra buck yet it became more than that. I was fortunate enough to work with some wonderful kids on my short time working as a tutor. While I would like to say that I had a great impact in all my kids and that I was able to change their life in reality I can’t even say if I helped them with the subject they had trouble with originally. One thing I can say is that I change the life of one of my students.Today I received a call from a number I did not recognize, at first I was skeptical so I answered. “Hello.” “OSCAR, Hi how are you? How’s Texas?” At first I have to say that I was confused and had no idea who was calling me so I did what anyone in that situations does, stall. “I’m good, Texas is okay, how are you?” “That’s good, I’m not scared anymore of falling 6th grade.” That’s when it hit me, I knew who it was and I have to say I was glad he had call. The caller was from a 6th grader who I use to tutor. The interesting thing is that when I first meet him he was terrified of failing 6th grade, afraid to ask any questions and to timid to turn in his homework in fear he would be criticized. When I came in the scene my student was reading two grade levels below his actual grade and was terrified of writing. A terrible situation and one where no child should be put through but it is the result of being in an education system where test scores are more important than in-depth learning. One of the things he would constantly tell me is “I’m scared of not passing 6th grade, I don’t think I’m going to pass 6th grade.” This words coming from any child is heart breaking but coming from such a sweet kid just made me want to shed a tear. Over the next couple of weeks I spend my time motivating him to work hard but more importantly to believe in himself and not to be so afraid. It was a challenge, ones the idea of failure is put into a young child’s mind it is hard to break it away. I spent hours just speaking to him and discussing why he shouldn’t be afraid. The last day of tutoring he looked at me and said “Oscar I’m not scared anymore, I know I will pass 6th grade and every grade after that.” Oh, that hit me right in the sweet spot. “I’m going to miss you, your my favorite tutor, my favorite teacher.” “I’m miss you too ______, it was fun, keep your head up and keep working hard and you’ll be alright.” Shook his hand and walk away. Now I receive a call that made my day. I cannot change the life of all the kids I meet but I change the life of one now I have to work on changing the life of many more. One kid at a time to make the world a better place.

Leave a comment